Seven West African states stake claim to 630,000 km2 of seabed

Seven West African states presented a joint submission of outer limits of the continental shelf beyond 200 nautical miles to the United Nations on September 25th 2014.

The Republic of Cabo Verde, the Republic of The Gambia, the Republic of Guinea-Bissau, The Republic of Guinea, the Islamic Republic of Mauritania, the Republic of Senegal and the Republic of Sierra Leone all used Geocap in their work with UNCLOS Article 76.

This unprecedented success resulting from exemplary sub-regional collaboration in West Africa was catalysed by the Norwegian Ministry of Foreign Affairs and enhanced by the social cohesion in the team of technical experts hosted regularly by GRID-Arendal for intensive week long working sessions.

Geocap would like to take this opportunity to congratulate everyone on a job well done!

Further reading: